PMP - Scam or no scam?
So about a year ago, I found this website, where you could sign up (for a monthly 50 dollar fee) and submit your tracks / beats to major labels and A&R’s. The site is called PMP worldwide (www.pmpworldwide.com). My first impression was that this was too good to be true and that it couldn’t be THAT easy. I read that I could submit beats to all the hot major label artists, such as Busta Rhymes, Nas, Eve, The Game and the list goes on. Hyped from all the oppourtunities, I started uploading a couple of my absolutely best beats to my profile and even spent a great deal of time describing the beats (BPM and misc. info).
Now, the page itself had some useful articles and interviews with A&R’s from different labels, but the problem was – Nobody ever contacted me or even wrote me a single line. I didn’t hear anything from nobody. Either I was drowning in the big pool of (so-called) producers or else nobody was visiting my page (or even the webpage itself). I tried writing them, asking them to put some sort of counter or tracker on my page to see if I had any visitors, but this was unfortunately not an option. So after I gave the website another chance for about 2 months, I decided to cancel my membership. I had just spent around 150 dollars – on nothing.
If I had gotten proof of some sort of promotion or that I knew someone had heard my beats, it would have been “ok” in my book, but this was just straight wack. I talked to my good friends “Doubleshot productions”, who are featured on the front page of the site and asked them if they had any luck. They told me that they had not gotten a single message or anything either. So that was what really lead me to conclude that this website is a genius moneymaking machine – for the people behind it. Not for the producers / beatmakers, who throw out 50 dollars a month out the window to post their beats on a webpage that gets no traffic. Anyone else out there with a similar experience? My advice is too grind the old fashion way – Hustle in the streets a.k.a. be a bit rude and stop the A&R’s when you see them and pass a CD to them or send the CD’s to them. Does anyone else have any better advice?
To finish this little story off, the moral of the story is: If something seems as if it is too good to be true – it usually is (unless we are talking about some guy called FredNukes – heh!).
Tags: Buckwild, Doubleshot productions, FredNukes, Internet scams, PMP worldwide, Submit beats to major labels
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
Enjoy this blog? Buy me a coffee or an umbrella drink. May I suggest a venti Starbucks Frappuccino for $3.00? Or choose any amount you wish to tip. 
6 Responses to “PMP - Scam or no scam?”